0 comments on “Anyone remember “Animalympics”?

  1. That was fun to read! There is going to be a 30 year Animalypics reunion in Los Angeles in November. I’m looking forward to re-uniting with everyone. It’s a shame that the very good 4 channel discrete mix (left, center, right, mono surround) elements were either lost or thrown out by Todd A-O where it was originally mixed by myself and Don McDougal. We were across the hall from Spielberg who was mixing 1941. I must have heard Belushi scream 100 times a day for a week as they mixed that airplane sequence! I bet the sound elements could be located if someone had the time, patience and money to search for it and a good DVD could be issued….but for now, nothing. I have a music review website: http://www.musicangle.com if anyone is interested….

    Like

  2. Hey Michael, thanks for the post! What a treat to hear from the guy who voiced so many great characters. Dean Wilson always cracked us up with his talk of diamond-pleat seats and “the calm beauty of nayture.” It’s great that the movie still has so many fans after 30 years… It was a distant memory for me until recently, since I last saw it when I was 10 or 11, but now I remember how much my brother and I loved it. What a bummer about the original audio tracks, it would be perfect to have those for a DVD one of these days…you might have to do some campaigning for it at the reunion! I’m also curious about the video quality of the German release since sometimes those things are done from bad tapes, but the “unofficial” copy I found online was quite good. If it makes a U.S. DVD I’ll buy a couple, fer suuure. 🙂
    Thanks again for dropping by, I’ll be sure and check out musicangle.com too!

    Like

Say it!

